Thinking of God

Posted: April 30, 2009 by Josiah Batten in Christian living, Deeper Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

1 O God, you are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you,
my body longs for you,
in a dry and weary land
where there is no water.  2 I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.
3 Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.
4 I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.
5 My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.”  Psalm 63:1-5, NIV
I want to ask you one of the most profound questions we’re capable of entertaining.  What do you think about God?

Truthfully, consider that.  How you answer that will be the greatest determinant of your behavior.  If you don’t seek God, why don’t you?  I know for me it’s because I become narrowly focused and forget what’s really important.  But God says He is the rewarder of those who diligently seek Him (see Hebrews 11).  If we truly believe God rewards us when we seek Him, then how can we not seek Him? If I believe there’s a treasure hidden somewhere, I’m digging it up.  The greater the treasure, the more effort I’m willing to exert to reach it.

Now consider this:  God is infinitely great!  He is eternally good.  He’s incomprehensibly loving.  He’s all-powerfully merciful.  He’s infinitely just.  God is beautiful, He’s magnificent, He’s majestic, He’s glorious.  In light of that, how can we not seek Him?
I believe that if we truly conceive of God in such a way, it will be impossible for us to avoid seeking Him.  However, and I speak from experience, since we do not exert much effort in seeking God, I must conclude it’s because we do not conceive of Him in that way.
A.W. Tozer said that distorted ideas about God soon rot the religion in which they appear.  David said God’s love is better than life.  If that’s true, what should our priorities be?  If God is as good as David describes Him in Psalm 63 (among other Psalms), then shouldn’t our lives radically reflect that God is our treasure?

I don’t say this as one who is perfect.  I don’t know any body’s status regarding their treasure hunt for God.  I have probably failed in worse ways then many of you in this respect.  But it doesn’t have to be that way.

“If Jesus Christ is who He claimed to be; if He is what the glorious company of the apostles and the noble army of martyrs declared that He is; if the faith which the holy church throughout all the world doth acknowledge is the true faith of God, then no man has any right to dedicate his life to anything that can burn or rust or rot or die. No man has any right to give himself completely to anyone but Christ nor to anything but prayer.”  -A.W. Tozer, “On Breeding Spotted Mice”, in Man:  The Dwelling Place of God

God bless!
Josiah

P.S.  -You may enjoy these videos:


And this book by A.W. Tozer:  http://www.worldinvisible.com/library/tozer/5j00.0010/5j00.0010.c.htm  (Go to the bottom and click on “List of Books” for a free library of Christian classics!)

Leave a Reply

